Skip to content

Sports Blogger Fantasy Football Week 4

October 5, 2009
by

Alright so I pretty much have claimed this weekly post as my own. I also made the boner move of the century (in my league for money) dropping Rashard Mendenhall for Glen Coffee which allowed my opponent to snatch him off of waivers and start him in time for the game for a whopping 33 points. I was winning 68-13 going into the SNF game. Now it’s 72-71 after his King Laserface/Mendenballsinmouth combo. So rip on me for that move no doubt, but also try to compliment me on the Coffee pick up. He had 12 points and I’m sensitive :(

Alright so back to the Sports Blogger League in which my luck isn’t doing much better. I’m against Shiancock who had a decent week despite a whole crap load of Bye Weeks due to a ATL/ARI heavy team. I’m up by a slim 15 points and he has Ryan Grant and Green Bay’s defense against my Minnesota Defense. My Fantasy Advice is much much better than my Fantasy Performance…

Top Performers:

QB: Ben Roethlisberger- Owned by Shiancock. Had 333 yards and 2 TDs in a much more lopsided SNF than the score dictated. Of course, going against Logic.

RB: Rashard Mendenhall- Owned by Ape. 160 yards and 2 TDs in his breakout performance of the season. Last week he was benched for laziness and poor preparations.

WR: Steve Smith(NYG)- 140 yards and 2 TDs. Owned by Favarro Must Die I guess it’s OK if Max Gallner is going to attack me on his sissy ass Eric Bruntlett blog, but he did happen to mention that I said “The New York Giants have the best WRs in the NFC East” which is untrue. I said “Don’t sleep on the NYG receivers” and if you didn’t you’d be greatly rewarded as of right now. Steve Smith is only being outplayed by Randy Moss. Mario Manningham led the league in yards after the first 2 games (and kind of fell off) and Hakeem Nicks looked very promising in his first game back.

Defense: San Francisco- Owned by Gally. Put up a shutout v. St Louis and had 5 sacks, 3 TDs and 3 Turnovers. 2 1/2 sacks and an interception for a touchdown went to Patrick Willis, all by himself.

Bad Sits:

RB: Knowshon Moreno and Kevin Smith- Owned by Doktara. He started the Jackson brothers (Fred and Stephen) who didn’t nearly provide as many points. And I’m not racist because I think two black guys with the same last name are brothers. I don’t care what you say.

WR: Joshua Cribbs- Owned by Bucholtz. Cribbs is having a break out year on an 0-4 team. I can’t really blame AB for starting Vincent Jackson, most people would, but Cribbs probably should have at least been in the Flex spot.

QB: David Garrard- Flubby started Tony Romo over the best Defense in the league through 3 (and now make it 4) games. Didn’t work out for him.

Bad Starts:

RB: Tashard Choice- Owned by Logic. I should’ve went with my other option at RB on Dallas, Marion Barber who Jerry Jones even told me was going to start and I didn’t listen to him.

RB: Darren McFadden- Owned by Max Gallner. McFadden had .20 points for Vick’s Dead Eagles. Way to not start Joseph Addai (Whom I’d said was going to be good again this year, maybe try listening to me instead of trying to make fun of my posts)

RB: LaDanian Tomlinson- Owned by James Brown. Went against a tough D with Pitt and has nagging injuries. Earned 1.4 points and JB would have rathered Clinton Portis.

Good Start:

RB: Ronnie Brown is owned by Punter and Brandon who had 115 yards and 2 TDs in a rout of the Bills. He started him over Ray Rice and Larry Johnson.

RB: Rashard Mendenhall is owned by Ape who ACTUALLY STARTED HIM. Wow. Kudos Ape.

WR/TE: Johnny Knox- Even though I just ripped AB for not starting Cribbs in the Flex spot, I’d say that Knox is having emerging as one of Chicago’s big play threats as well and with both of these guys getting points for return yards in our backasswards league, they both should be started.

Defense: San Fancisco is owned by Gally who started them over 2 other NYJ (v. NO) and Philly (Bye) so it was actually a no-brainer Gally’s part but he does get credit for going through with it and was rewarded with 39 points (beat out Mendenhall).

Pick Up’s of the Week:

Glen Coffee is most likely taken in every league by now (or should be) but if he is available, grab him because he is going to get quite a few touches in his next game. He will be facing a tougher defense with Atlanta but then it’s Bye week and then Frank Gore will probably be back, so use him while you can.

However, Rashard Mendenhall is the PUotW because next week he faces Detroit. You should just start salivating now, if he can pull off 160 against San Diego, he can get like 320 against Detroit. Then it’s Bye week for him as well so fuck me right?

Ok that sums up my Fantasy Breakdown of Week 4. So to recap: the New York Giants are on a better pace than I predicted when I said they’d be 12-4 this year. Steve Smith, Mario Manningham and Hakeem Nicks have been solid WRs, Willis McGahee has 254 yards total and 7 touchdowns. And Addai is having a comeback year. Man, my fantasy advice was really shitty, huh?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

