Skip to content

A Non-comprehensive Preview of UFC 103

September 18, 2009

Everything is bigger in Texas. Sadly UFC didn’t get that memo and we’re left with another Rich Franklin headlined Pay Per View (PPV) and the 2nd PPV in a row without a title fight in the main event.

Not to take anything away from Franklin. He has a record of 27-4 with 1 No Contest. and could no doubt have his way with me in a fight…And I don’t mean in the mancrush for GSP  sort of way where I would totally give up my back…Uhh no homo? More like the “Hey you don’t really need that arm” sortof way after he snaps it in a submission. Or in the “Here let me rearrange your face like a Picasso” kinda way. Yeah, that kinda way.

Now that I got the rant part out-of-the-way enjoy as Logic and I give you our picks for UFC 103. Which will hopefully end in my redemption after taking it on the chin with my picks from UFC 102.

Logic: Alright after a stellar performance from an average card on Wednesday for the premiere of The Ultimate Fighter, I called yet another winner with my best bet for the day. (eat it Gimp). Nate Quarry fought an amazing fight to a unanimous decision and stole my heart yet again. Ever since he did this, he has been on of my favorite fighters. Now it’s time for UFC 103 which I think has another average card. Maybe it’s because the last one was amazing, or maybe because it’s just effing average, ok?

Tyson Griffin (-280) versus Hermes Franca (+285)

gimp: Franca came in a little hefty at the weigh-ins, so the fight is now off from being a battle at 155 pounds to a 159 pound catchweight fight. Yay catchweight fights /makes wanking motion. Will those extra pounds give Franca the edge? I’d imagine no. Will Franca have to give up a portion of his earnings for not cutting the weight? Yes. Will this fight go the distance? Probably. Will I stop asking stupid questions? Probably not.

gimp’s Pick: Griffin by decision.

Logic: First fight we got is Tyson Griffin v. Hermes Franca. Francally, I think Griffin is going to destroy him. This is a tough kid. He has a record of 13-2 and even though Hermes is the more experienced fighter, I think Griffin is an up and comer. Which is weird because your mom gave me that nickname a while back.

Logic’s Pick: Griffin via guillotine round 2.

Josh Koscheck (-360) vs. Frank Trigg (+355)

gimp: Old sexy (ie Frank Trigg)- hairless, more streamlined fighter. New sexy (ie Josh Koscheck)- Jew fro, which is far less aerodynamic, but the ladies love it…or do they? I’m a big proponent of youth over experience. Sure experience has its advantages like resiliency and the best technique for taking home a stripper, but youth tends to mean more speed, more strength, and a stronger chin. Plus experience tends to be associated with being older and being older makes me think of osteoporosis. Which totally makes me think during one of his next 6 fights that Randy Couture is going to break a hip.

gimp’s Pick: Koscheck, with his bleach blonde Jew Fro by way of decision.

Logic: Also on the card is Josh Koshcek and Frank Trigg. I don’t know how many times Koshcheck has to show his goofy hair around the UFC to prove he is a very average fighter. His wrestling IS very good and that usually gives everyone a leg up in the industry. You know who else’s wrestling is good? Kurt Angle and he hits women. You want to root for a girl hitter? Man I can’t believe I just linked Perez Hilton. Even though I’ll have to admit, he is the best MS Painter on the planet. Speaking of gays, is Trigg’s nickname really “Twinkle Toes”? Does he come out with a fairy wand to the theme music of Aqua’s “Barbie Girl”? I’m not a fighter but if I lose a match to Twinkle Toes” I’m going to operate a toll booth somewhere. Maybe that’s why Trigg is an overwhelming underdog. God knows he’s under something. ZING!

Logic’s Pick: Trigg via decision.

Martin Kampmann (-350) vs. Paul Daley (+325)

gimp: This was originally scheduled to be a number one contenders match between Kampmann and Mike Swick. Winner would have received the chance to have their shit pushed in by reigning Welterweight Champion, and my ongoing mancrush recipient, GSP. Swick got injured so now Daley is stepping up. I like Daley in this fight because he has what they call one punch KO power. Sure Kampmann is good on the ground, but if the Maia/Marquardt fight taught me anything it’s go with the heavier hands. Suck it Logic.

gimp’s Pick: Daley by first round knockout.

Martin Kampmann is the heavy favorite over Paul Daley. Some “experts” have Daley over Kampmann. I don’t see that happening. Kampmann is 6-1 in his last 7 and only lost to Nate The Great. That’s not too shabby. He also won over Thiago Leites in those 7. I wouldn’t sleep on Kampmann

Logic’s pick: Kampmann in a decision.

Mirko Cro Cop (+120) vs. Junior Dos Santos (-130)

gimp: Cro Cop is looking to continue his 1 fight win streak following his eye poke victory at UFC 99 and his apparent bailing out of a verbal contract with the UFC. Bullshit aside he’s going against an up and comer in the form of “Cigano” Dos Santos, whose last 2 victories were against walking bean pole Stefan Struve and Fabricio Werdum. Both by way of 1st round TKO. Two possible outcomes here 1) Dos Santos gets Cro Cop’ed (ie a Cro Cop head kick, common side effects include loss of consciousness and waking up from nightmares in a cold sweat months later), or 2) the more likely outcome of Dos Santos introducing one of his dump truck fists to Cro Cop’s Croatian mug.

gimp’s Pick: Dos Santos by 2nd round TKO.

Logic: Mirko Cro Cop is one of my favorite fighters since his Pride days. I think he is a nutbag who sits on the Croatian Parliament and joins his country’s SWAT teams for fun. He also made Bob Sapp cry. Santos is pretty new to the UFC compared to Cro Cop’s experience but everyone seems to have Cro Cop counted out already (he’s the underdog). Which is stupid. Cro Cop lost to Gonzaga and Kongo. Two very good fighters.

Logic’s Pick: I’m picking another upset with Cro Cop via leg kick to the face. Round 3.

Rich Franklin (-125) vs Vitor Belfort (+117)

gimp: Rich Franklin is the reigning king of non-existent, made up weight divisions. Yay 195 /makes wanking motion. Belfort a few years back was shaping up to be what Anderson Silva is now. Completely dominant, but minus the dark skin complexion. A win here for Belfort will more than likely pave the way for a showdown down the road against Silva. Which I’m sure that Dana White and the UFC are hoping for. That is if the Belfort of old shows up. My gut says Belfort by decision, but UFC needs Belfort to be dominant in a victory. And what’s good for the UFC is good for heathen blood lust. So…

gimp’s Pick: Belfort by 3 round TKO.

Logic: The main event is Franklin v. Belfort. Belfort seems to be in great shape and even though Franklin is great with his homework, it’s hard to plan for your own death. Franklin hasn’t impressed me in a long while. I think he’s a cocky douche. Belfort knows how to put cocky douches in their place. I think this is going to be a really short night for Franklin who is on a downward slope in his career despite a recent resurgence. Besides, Cung Le picked Belfort. Vitor has the definite advantage in stand up and both are probably equals on the ground, which brings us to one conclusion.

Logic’s Pick: I got Belfort with a TKO in round 2.

gimp: Well that does it for us. But before we go I have my own little prop bet for you to consider:

Will Joe Rogan at UFC 103 look as unshaven and disheveled as a man who was on a three day cocaine/alcohol bender?

joeroganlooksdisheveled

"Dude you reak of hooker and alcohol."

"Dude you reek of hooker and alcohol."

Yes (-800)

No (+900)

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 19, 2009 1:55 pm

    Yes. Uptown. Going uptown on Rogan.

Leave a Reply

