Skip to content

The Minor League Mets Should Save Their Money…

August 25, 2009

I really don’t understand the dumpster fire that is the New York Mets. I don’t understand how one could watch this team. My father called me today and actually made me thank him for growing me up a Yankees fan. But to be honest… if I was to choose between being a cocky winner that everyone hates and a Mets fan that can get along with other people, I’d choose not choking except when giving myself a David Carradine .

The Mets are just not fun to watch. They have like one good player right now and everyone has been hurt at some point in the season. It goes way beyond Jose Reyes, Carlos Beltran and Carlos Delgado (the core of the team) they sent out a reasonable line-up each and every day. That included their All-Star, David Wright. But when Luis Castillo and Gary Sheffield anchor your line up, you know you are in trouble. Still, there has been worse.

I would go as far as to say that this is the worst team that any sport has ever seen. Now with the additional injuries of David Wright and Johan Santana their team is a full blown AIDs patient ready to get the flu. When you throw Billy Wagner, JJ Putz, John Maine, Oliver Perez, Alex Cora, Jonathon Niese, Fernando Martinez, Tim Redding, Angel Pagan, Brian Schneider, Ryan Church, Jeff Franceour, Ramon Martinez, Gary Sheffield and Fernando Nieve (at different times) on top of all that? You have to fire someone.

I know that the training staff is very respected in the sports community, and I’m not calling for their head. Omar can’t speak English. Jerry Manuel tries to make more jokes during a day than I do and even though he might be funnier, I’m still a better baseball manager.

I think Jeff Wilpon has made the second biggest mistake since trusting Bernie Madoff. He is going to bring Manuel and Minaya back. I honestly wouldn’t be surprised if it takes Francisco Rodriguez shattering into dust for them to fire someone. Because lets face the facts and call a spade a spade… He’s their only good player. I don’t know. Maybe I’m crazy. Crazy like a fox! Like, Jimmy Fox. Who was apparently a Jew! (Note: Source Here)

I mean they did realize that Angel Pagan will be good for them. The Franceour deal was good. And Bobby Parnell has upside. But this season is a total waste. They really should just turn the lights out at the stadium because I doubt people show up. Or even watch it on TV. They are going to lose money on their electric bill.

I’ve started 95% of my paragraphs with the word “I” and I feel that I am really conceited at this point in my life. I also know I’m from Strong Island and work in spitting distance from CitiField. And spit on it is exactly what I do. Many have asked what is in the water in Flushing. I’d like to respond: “Shit. Shit is in the water.”

Now it wouldn’t be nice of me to rant and call for heads without offering a solution to the problem. And it turns out, I’m just not really a nice guy. So blow me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 7:47 pm

    At the beginning of the season I was looking forward to the annual collapse that the Mets had previously perfected. Looks like I’m going to be sadly disappointed this year.

Leave a Reply

