Skip to content

Wimbledon Final Preview

July 5, 2009

_46010809_split_466

So as you may know, 6th ranked Andy Roddick, and 2nd ranked Roger Federer are playing off in the Wimbledon Finals. This is Roddick’s 5th Grand Slam Final, while it is Federer’s 20th. This is the 4th time that the two have met in the finals, with Federer winning the previous 3.

Roddick has a 1-3 record in grand slams, while Federer has a 14-5 record. This will be Federer’s 20th Grand Slam Final, which is the world record as well as the fact that if he wins, it will be his 15th victory which is also a World Record.

After the jump, video of the two as well as pseudo analysis.

Highlights of the 2007 US Open between the two of them…

Roddick has the all powerful serve, but Federer has everything else including knowledge of the court as this is his world record 7th trip to the Wimbledon Finals. While I don’t think it’ll be a blowout, I definitely don’t think it will be as close as my coworker Bruno thinks. I have it going in 4 sets ,6-3 4-6 7-6 6-5.

I’ll try and get up early to live blog it, but that’s 3 hours from now so I doubt it. It will be a good match anyways, and some type of history will go down no matter what. My money’s on Federer, but you can’t trust my gambling anyways.

If I don’t make the live blog, I’ll see you around Last Call at the Phoenix Pub tonight to debate it.

Have a good one, and I hope your not too hung over after Independence Day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

